Highlight Object Pin Display Case

Open Pin Case
Open Pin Case

This is a very recent addition to my collection. I have added jewelry to my collection over the years.

Attempts at Storage and Display

I haven’t been too happy with how to store my Laura Ingalls Wilder jewelry. I had it in a solid glasses case so that I easily take it with me, but it was really overfull and it was so crowded hard to see the individual pins. Forget about display. I decided I wanted to move them into something where it would be easier to show them off when I wasn’t wearing them. After looking around at several options, I decided to get this glass top ring box.

Where Did You Get Those Pins?

Most of these pins were purchased at various homesites over the years. The majority are an image on metal with a protective layer covering the image. A few are from other places. For instance, the large blue Wisconsin was from when the Lions Club hosted their state meeting in Pepin. (I’ve actually found 2 of these and you can see the other on display at the Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum in Pepin.)Sharp eyed readers will probably note that I have 3 pairs of dangily earrings in the box in addition to the pins. After I do my bigger artifacts, I may return to the individual pins.

Closed Pin Case
Closed Pin Case

Problems

Most of the pins have a stud back with makes them a little harder to keep in place since the backs are wider than the intended rings, so you still have to carry it flat if you don’t want them jumping up and down. I’ve considered removing the backs, but I think that’s asking for more trouble. The earrings are also a poor fit and I haven’t even attempted to add the couple of necklaces I have so I’m still not completely satisfied.

I think I will have to get a second case after I gather up Laura jewelry that got stuffed here and there, but

for right now, I’m pleased with how it’s working. You can also get the same box in black if you want to try it for your Laura jewelry.

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on FacebookTwitterGoogle+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Leave a Reply

