Time for a New Theme

Last year I poked around with the idea for a new theme, but the only response I got was to keep the old one. I checked around for the free WordPress themes again and I think I found a few I like better. Ignore the blue circles with pencils inside those are just pointing out elements that you can edit. Which one do you like?

My blog with Capoverso
My blog with Capoverso

This is the one with probably the least change, but it does a nice job of having what I want at the top. I don’t think this is the one, but it’s a definite possibility.

My Blog in Chalkboard
My Blog in Chalkboard

This one has a bit too much of the blog information at the top, but what themeing! If any theme ever said Laura Ingalls Wilder/one-room schools this is it. It also has great contrast with the white on black which I find easier on the eyes than black on white. However, the writing is a bit childish and maybe hard to read. What do you think?

My blog in Fictive
My blog in Fictive

I really like how it puts my photo at the top and not only does it do a nice job of keeping all my finding aides intact, it also moves them to the right hand side which has been found to be more user friendly for most web people who tend to read in a F-pattern. A downside is that I’m not sure how colorblind friendly the top is. This is a strong contender though.

My Blog in Flounder
My Blog in Flounder

Again major concerns with color choice for colorblind accessibility, but I like how most important links are on the left, but it splits some to the right not to look too crowded. Plus I love the circle around the blog name.

My Blog in Quentin
My Blog in Quentin

Personally I think this is the prettiest one, but it keeps everything on the right and I do think it would be better on the left. Still it’s so pretty.

My Blog in TwentyFifteen
My Blog in TwentyFifteen

I added the background photo on the left. It can be anything. I think it’s a nice graphic element, while still moving the navigation stuff on the left which I’d really like to do.

So that’s it. Those are the ones I’m looking at to change, please let me know which one you like in the comments below.

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on FacebookTwitterGoogle+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

3 thoughts on “Time for a New Theme”

  1. It’s hard to not vote for Chalkboard, since it fits so well, and I personally wouldn’t have any trouble reading it. But Quentin looks best, in my opinion.
    Whichever you choose, I’m sure it will look nice – and will contain great information!

Leave a Reply

