Read Aloud Day Poll

Sarah Uthoff in my new studio
Sarah Uthoff in my new studio

I was going to do a Facebook poll about which book I should read for my podcast on World Read Aloud Day (March 4th), but I discovered Facebook now only allows free polls for groups (and doesn’t make the information about paying to include them easy to find). So I decided to try this poll feature in WordPress which I hadn’t before.

Your choices are:

  • Pa’s Big Green Animal Book – It’s real title is
    Hartwig, Dr. G. The Polar and Tropical Worlds: A Popular and Scientific Description. Springfield, MA : C.A. Nichols, 1876. Print.
    If chosen, I’ll read the section containing the information about the Great Auk.
  • Millbank by Mary J. Holmes – I have an emotional connection to the author who created the character my grandmother was named after, so even though I read the beginning last year, I’d be glad to pick up where I left off and read more.
  • Other – Or would you rather hear something else? It would have to be something published before 1924. I could do some more poetry. I also have a pretty good collection of readers and I could pick some stories from them, for instance “The Great Stone Face” was a favorite of my Great-Grandmother’s which is a great piece in itself and has a great story surrounding it that I could share. Or I have some 19th century novels not mentioned in the “Little House” series that you might still enjoy. Or is there something else in mind you’d like to hear? Vote below and we’ll see how this works.
  • No matter how the vote comes out, be sure to pick something for yourself to read aloud to someone on March 4th to celebrate the importance of reading and help spread the word.

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales fighting to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation.Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on FacebookTwitterGoogle+,LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. She is currently President of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Legacy and Research Association. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

 

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Leave a Reply

