1000th Trundlebed Tales Blog Post

I can’t believe it. This is my 1000th blog post. My first blog post for this blog was published Feb. 8, 2007.  I started out with a post once a week , but for the last two years I’ve tried to do a post every other day.

Sarah in Brandon, Iowa
Sarah in Brandon, Iowa

Where Did You Get That Name?

The first blog I followed regularly was by Sandy Oliver, editor of the much missed Food History News. In between episodes she’d post a weekly post with a round up of interesting related things she found in the meantime. She called it Editor’s Notebook. So I wanted to emulate her and called in Sarah’s Notebook. The Trundlebed Tales name is the umbrella name for all my Laura related activities. When I decided I needed a name to use as a masthead I remembered one in particular off a list of rejected titles for Little House in the Big Woods, Trundle Bed Tales. I decided if I combined the first two words it would give me a nice strong TT visually and make it more unique so I started using Trundlebed Tales as my brand.

What Do I Consider Related?

My blog is about Laura Ingalls Wilder mostly, but it’s about Laura and related topics so it’s a little broader in scope than they recommend a blog to be. I think it’s important to understand the social history behind Laura’s books and story so you’ll find a lot of things here about one-room schools, historic foodways, historic clothing and other things Laura would have known about. I think social history is important in general so you’ll also find social history topics from other times. I also report on writers I find similar to Laura and things that I just in general find interesting and want to share.

Revisions

A recent project has been to revisit old posts. I had started this once before going through posts from the beginning and updating them, but I changed my mind and started instead by working my way through the posts that have had the most views. Each one I re-read and write an update for it, correct any dead links, add my new signature block, etc. Then I’ve been re-blogging each post. I hope you’ll continue to enjoy my look back.

Other On-Going Projects

I’ve been adding some more structure to the blog with posts at the beginning of every month with posts about programs I’m doing that month, Laura events around the country that month, and mentions of me in the press for the previous month. I also started a series of posts to help bring some of the excitement of my new program “In the Kitchen With Laura” by posting a related project every month.  I’ve also been working on migrating or duplicating some of the information from the website over to the blog. I’ll continue to do some updating and add informational pages.

Where else can you find Trundlebed Tales

I’ve really pleased with how well the name Trundlebed Tales has gone and I hope people associate it with quality you can trust. I do my best to create things Laura would be broud to have her name attached to for all my projects. It’s now on my website, blog, Twitter account, Facebook page, YouTube Channel and podcast.

Laura’s On-Air Birthday Party

As a final note, I’ll be doing my fourth annual Laura Ingalls Wilder birthday program on Feb. 7, 2014. The first two years I shared information about Laura’s birthdays and 19th century birthday celebrations in general. Last year and this instead I’m asking people to call in and share either the story of how they became a Laura fan or their favorite Laura related story. I hope you’ll join us. Call (877) 633-9389 (number only good while live on air) and stream us or catch the archive at:
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/trundlebedtales/2014/02/08/ep-52-laura-ingalls-wilders-on-air-birthday-party

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales fighting to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation.Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on FacebookTwitterGoogle+,LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. She is currently acting President of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Legacy and Research Association. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

One thought on “1000th Trundlebed Tales Blog Post”

Leave a Reply

