Blog Byline Or Are You Wasting Valuable Online Real Estate?

When I first started this blog back in February of 2007, I wondered if I should sign off each post. I even considered adding a tag line like the classics such as “Good night Mr. and Mrs. America and all the ships at sea” or “And that’s the way it is” or “Hey, it’s only my opinion” or “Yes, Minister.” I threw out the idea rather quickly, but did try signing each post for awhile. I experimented with a couple of different ways to sign it. But if you were reading this blog, I figured you post likely knew it was from me. It either was from me or said Guest Post rather blatantly at the top. I didn’t really care for the way signing posts looked, after all these weren’t letters, so I stopped.

http://www.fastcompany.com/3016400/work-smart/read-this-then-follow-me-how-to-make-your-byline-a-marketing-goldmine

Now I’ve read this article I’ve decided perhaps I gave up to soon. So you’re in for more experimenting as I work on a signature sign-off. What do you think? I modeled the third person on the examples in the article, but would first person be better? Is this good or should come up for a couple different depending on the topics of the posts? Hmmm, lots to think about and try.

Hey, maybe I’ll even dust off that signature sign-off phrase idea. How about “Brighten the corner where you are”?

Sarah S. Uthoff is main force behind Trundlebed Tales fighting to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. She is currently acting President of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Legacy and Research Association. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

2 thoughts on “Blog Byline Or Are You Wasting Valuable Online Real Estate?”

Leave a Reply

