New Treasures August 2013

IMG_0001I’ve been slowly moving things into my Laura Ingalls Wilder building and in the process finding things I had forgotten I had so I’m getting new things two ways, from some recent Ebay purchases and for some stuff that I had found from other places. I’m thinking I should share some of the stuff in my collection with you. I wanted to start sharing these two because they are both going into one of my aquarium displays.

Toothpick Holder from Walnut Grove

The toothpick holder on the left, which I believe is from the 1980s was sold by the Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum in Walnut Grove. I couldn’t resist it because it was such a cute image of Jack and Laura.

Paperweight of Third Street House

On the right is a paperweight which I’ve had the good fortune to have for awhile now. This has to be from the 1970s because from the condition of the house in the photo it was either while it was still privately owned or more likely right after it was purchased by the society. The photo is up against what was clearly a paperweight blank purchased to make these and then covered with a wood grain contact paper. I don’t know if they sold any other designs, for example maybe one of the Surveyor’s House or of the marker or not, but this was such an early photo and I don’t believe that I’ve seen it any place else that I had to have it.

Sometimes You Lose

IMG_0002 I don’t always win every time. When I’m Ebay shopping I normally mentally put a price in my head of what I’d be willing to pay. If it goes for up to that or just a little beyond, I’ll keep bidding otherwise I’ll stop. Normally for postcards I top out about $15. I just lost a Manchester postcard which almost exactly matches Harvey Dunn’s sketch of the town when it went over $20. I’m most disappointed, especially since it was a bad write up which mentioned absolutely nothing of the important connections Manchester had and still people bid it up. Oh, well, sometimes you just have to move on to fish another day.

Another frustrating thing is often people picked things up from a yard sale or estate sale or inherited and don’t know anything about them. I’d love to know exactly when the toothpick holder was purchased, but it would be hard to say.

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Leave a Reply

