Location of first Blind School (TV Show)

I normally don’t post a lot about the NBC Little House on the Prairie TV show, but I do try to pass along things like shooting locations of episodes. I always like to know where things were filmed and it is often very difficult to find out. I just stumbled over one such location. For a long time I knew there was a Disney movie called The Horse in the Gray Flannel Suit which was in part a spoof of The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit movie. Recently I finally got a chance to watch it and I was shocked to see what was clearly the same exterior that they used for the first blind school the character of Mary attended on Little House on the Prairie. It was used as Dean Jones’s character’s house. So I jumped in to search and I tracked down that most of the exteriors of the movie were shot at Golden Oak Ranch. This is still today a business that rents out parts of the property for use in movies and TV shows. I didn’t find the exact same building on what they offer to rent today, but I’m sure it was shot here.

Look at the building and tell me if you agree, this is the best photo I’ve found of it online, see the distinctive window pattern over the horse’s back from The Horse in the Gray Flannel Suit. (Note: I had a link to an image here, but it is now dead and I can’t find another photo online. I’ll be on the look out to replace it.)

Here’s the best shot I’ve found online from that particular episode of Little House on the Prairie, from the episode “I’ll Be Waving as You Drive Away.”
http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20080814194443/littlehouse/images/b/b5/Title.wavingasyoudriveaway2.jpg

Read more about the Golden Oak Ranch here:

http://www.billcotter.com/disney/golden.htm

http://www.tcm.com/tcmdb/title/78394/The-Horse-in-the-Gray-Flannel-Suit/notes.html

http://www.goldenoakranch.com

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales fighting to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation.Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on  FacebookTwitterGoogle+,  LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. She is currently acting President of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Legacy and Research Association. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

2 thoughts on “Location of first Blind School (TV Show)”

  1. Reblogged this on Sarah's Notebook and commented:

    It works out well the week of the official 40th anniversary of the Little House on the Prairie TV show. I checked all the links, but sadly the one of the house from “The Horse in the Grey Flannel Suit” is broken and I can’t find another image. So check out the movie itself and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

