New Program in Development

Peeling Apples
Peeling Apples

I usually have a couple of new program ideas bouncing around in my head, but the one that is ready to start talking to you about will be called “Laura in the Kitchen.” This will be a first person program (meaning I will dress and talk as if I’m Laura Ingalls Wilder). The first version won’t have a PowerPoint and will be designed so that it can be presented outside or in full light since that seems to be the type of program that is growing right now. Eventually I want to add PowerPoint as an option so I’ve been taking food photos all over the place. Oyster soup? Check. Potato Cakes? Check. And so on. I’ve been collecting props for awhile and I think I will be able to do a dry run soon and hopefully get it ready for a full roll out this spring. I’ve got some what I hope are great ideas for audience participation and I can’t wait to see how they work out in practice. I still am going to need a churn. Still trying to decide if I should try for a full sized one or a small one. The full size are more accurate but heavy to carry around, hmmm!  I hope you get a chance to see it soon.

(The photo was taken in the Czech House at Ushers Ferry Historic Village before the Flood of 2008. The embroidered cloth behind the counter is a splash cloth or a nucharky. The words are in Czech and translate to “Honor your father and your mother and also honor your mother’s language.”)

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Leave a Reply

