Guiding Light Airs its Last Episode

img_0092I haven’t been posting much lately and I apologize for that. I really am trying to get back into the regular habit and I have a number of drafts written. I just need to get them polished and posted so watch for more here soon. Today though I just had to share my thoughts about Guiding Light.

It’s cancellation has been covered by the New York Times and 60 Minutes. It’s been an everyday part of my life since I was born and I literally can’t wrap my mind around the concept that it is over. Thank heavens for Youtube where I’ve been happily watching the 1998 episodes as they are know being aired in some foreign country and at least I can watch the last 10 years over again.

I absolutely loved yesterday’s episode of Guiding Light. THAT’S what we should have been seeing for years. Characters you care about. History honored. Connections made. Pure happiness balancing the pathos. Yesterday’s episode was what Guiding Light is truly supposed to be and from the preview description I read late last night today’s episode should be just as good. I’m thankful for all the vets, really old friends, who agreed to return. Manny, my favorite couple ever and their children, “moved” back to Springfield yesterday. Ed finally made his move to get Holly back. I’m thankful that they wrapped up as much story and let as many characters find happiness as they did. I’m so sorry that anybody decided that it had to stop. We’ll never see its like again and if its last few years were in one of its temporary declines, it was definitely on the upswing these last few months and if they had started to actually play a few of the beats they hinted at, I think they could have been on top again. I’m especially sad because I really think that loss of economies of scale with the closing of down of GL will inevitably mean the loss of Product and Gambles final soap, currently the lone survivor of a once might pantheon, As the World Turns. My day will never be the same again. I truly didn’t ever think I’d see it end. Goodbye Springfield, Farewell, and Amen.

UPDATED September 27 2017: I added the photo and the signature block and corrected one typo.

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook,  Twitter,  Google+,   LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Published by

trundlebedtales

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales striving to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Uthoff is a nationally known Laura Ingalls Wilder authority and has presented at five of the Wilder homesites, many conferences and numerous libraries, museums, and events around the Midwest. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

3 thoughts on “Guiding Light Airs its Last Episode”

  1. I watched GL for years and went to the prom the same year that Philip, Beth, Rick and Mindy went. I loved the Bauer barbecue and my sister and I still call each other on the 4th and say, “Happy Fourth of July” the way the Bauer matriarch always said it. What was her name? I can’t remember as it’s been years. I looked foward to it everyday after school, but let it go when it became so unreal and the family characters were lost. I also hated the camera work and almost felt sick watching Gus from the inside of a kitchen cabinet. It’s sad to see it go, but it wasn’t the same GL.

    1. I was younger than the Four Musketeers, but I always felt like I grew up with them. I think you are thinking of Bert Bauer, Rick and Michelle’s grandmother, who was the heart of the show for many years. Yes, the storyline had gotten lost since they spent that entire year trying to ruin Manny and then wrote them off and it steadily went downhill from there, but after Phillip came back last February they were actually on an uptrend and it was getting better again. There is a lot of classic GL on Youtube if you want to relive some memories.

Leave a Reply

