In the Kitchen With Laura Project January 2014

Two of My Recipe Decoupages

Two of My Recipe Decoupages

I think 2013 was a great year for programs. I really loved both new programs I rolled out this year, but I’m especially excited about In the Kitchen With Laura which blends Laura history with food history through hands on activities. I’ve decided to post a project a month in hopes that you will get excited about it too.

This month’s project has to do with recipes. Laura often included a recipe with her letters to fans whether they had requested a recipe or whether it just filled up some space. I’ve linked in an image of the first page of one such letter. The typed transcript of the entire letter including the gingerbread recipe is available on the Horn Book‘s website:
http://www.hbook.com/1999/09/authors-illustrators/laura-ingalls-wilder-letter-to-jennie-d-lindquist-october-19-1953/

Collecting handwritten copies of recipes has been a long lasting project for me. I started when I was in 4H when my mother suggested it was a great subject for a decoupage. I still haven’t found a good reference to how long you can expect a decoupage to last, but mine are at roughly 25 years and counting. They now cover a kitchen wall with my important recipes right there.  I’ve kept paper copies of the handwriting too and it’s a special connection to hold in your hand a beloved recipe that the creator wrote out themselves.

Hand Written Recipes

Hand Written Recipes

So your project for the month is two fold. First, find an older person and ask them to hand write out a recipe that you associate with them. The one I did for this challenge was my Great-Aunt Jean’s peanut butter cookie recipe. I’d previously gotten recipes from two of my great-grandmothers, my grandmother, and a great-great-aunt or two. Second, hand write out a recipe that means a lot to you and give it to someone you know who is younger. That’s your challenge. I hope that you will accept it and please share the challenge and report back in the comments below.

Sarah S. Uthoff is main force behind Trundlebed Tales fighting to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation.Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on FacebookTwitterGoogle+,LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. She is currently acting President of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Legacy and Research Association. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “In the Kitchen With Laura Project January 2014”

  1. susanlulu2013 Says:

    My grandmother decoupaged some pictures for me that are 51 years old, and they still look perfect! I guess it lasts for a LONG time!
    susanlulu@yahoo.com

  2. Missy's Crafty Mess Says:

    Great idea. I should do that with some of the recipes that I found in my Grandfather’s house after he passed away. Its too bad none of the copies are hand written. Love your blog.

  3. carmichael2359 Says:

    Ok…now I’m officially jealous!

  4. TLynn Says:

    Never thought of decoupage – what a great idea! Feel lucky that I did get handwritten recipes from all ancestors I knew before they passed. Now to pass them along to the next generation…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,815 other followers

