Work Starting on New Project

Sarah Uthoff dressed as Laura Ingalls Wilder in front of her Laura building

Sarah Uthoff Calling for Questions

Now that the Laura Ingalls Wilder On Air Birthday Podcast is a thing of the past for another year, I think Almanzo’s birthday is the perfect time to introduce a new project that I’m going to be working on. A lot of times people ask me when I’m going to write a book on Laura Ingalls Wilder and my experience at the national Laura Ingalls Wilder conference and afterward convinced me that there is a real need for handbook to answer some of these Laura questions that come up over and over again. A lot of research work gets wasted as new fans learn the same things over and over again and I think having a book that provides a pathfinder, answers to those easy questions can give a step up to fans who want to learn more of the real story.

That’s where you come in. I get questions a lot, but I’d like to know what puzzles you about Laura? What questions do you have? What would you like to see in a Laura Ingalls Wilder fan handbook? Let me know here or by e-mail at info@trundlebedtales.com

This will most likely be a long term project. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

UPDATE: This is the 12th in the top twenty viewed posts of all time. It’s been almost a year since I announced the project and I have been busy gathering questions. An important development has been that my brother and sister-in-law adopted this past year. I’ve been introducing my new niece and nephew (6 and 9) to Laura Ingalls Wilder fandom (very successfully I’m pleased to say), but it has definitely given me a new perspective about what young people today have as background going into the books and how I’m going to have to explain things in terms everybody can relate to. I think the book will definitely benefit from having them around even if it may delay the finish of the book.

I’m still looking for questions, so if you have any you want answered please send them along to the e-mail above or through my Trundlebed Tales Facebook Page.

Sarah S. Uthoff is the main force behind Trundlebed Tales fighting to bring the History, Mystery, Magic and Imagination of Laura Ingalls Wilder and other greats of children’s literature and history to life for a new generation. Attend one of her programs, schedule one yourself, watch her videos, listen to her podcast, and find her on FacebookTwitterGoogle+, LinkedIn, and Academia.edu. She is currently acting President of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Legacy and Research Association. Professionally she is a reference librarian at Kirkwood Community College and director of the Oxford (Iowa) Public Library.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Work Starting on New Project”

  1. Laura Says:

    What a great project! I wish you all the luck and I’m going to be thinking of a question.

  2. Susan Fletcher Says:

    Congratulations on your new project!! Laura fans can’t wait!

  3. Cheryl King Says:

    Great idea Sarah! It has been needed for a while. Best of luck and I too will be thinking of questions.

  4. lauri5567 Says:

    What makes Laura unique? Other women must have written their memories of pioneer life down. How/why did her books become so popular? Why do people want to visit her homes rather than other authors?

  5. Cynde Livingston Says:

    Sarah, where are you from? Maybe you should visit the museum in Walnut Grove, MN which is in my territory. Also, DeSmet,S.D. and of course Mansfield, MO. It appears however that without her daughter, Lane, Laura may never have been published. Since Lane was a writer also, I am sure she pushed until she found a publisher. As for why she became so popular, who knows? Why does any author become more popular than another?

    • trundlebedtales Says:

      Cynde~ Thanks for the reply. I live in Iowa and have been to the Laura Ingalls Wilder museums and in fact been a featured guest speaker at about half of them. What you say about Rose is true and as best as I can tell from your comment, your questions would be “Why is Laura so popular?” and “Did Rose help get the books published?” I’ll make sure they are on my list. Sarah

  6. trundlebedtales Says:

    Reblogged this on Sarah’s Notebook and commented:

    UPDATE: This is the 12th in the top twenty viewed posts of all time. It’s been almost a year since I announced the project and I have been busy gathering questions. An important development has been that my brother and sister-in-law adopted this past year. I’ve been introducing my new niece and nephew (6 and 9) to Laura Ingalls Wilder fandom (very successfully I’m pleased to say), but it has definitely given me a new perspective about what young people today have as background going into the books and how I’m going to have to explain things in terms everybody can relate to. I think the book will definitely benefit from having them around even if it may delay the finish of the book.

    I’m still looking for questions, so if you have any you want answered please send them along to the e-mail above or through my Trundlebed Tales Facebook Page.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,743 other followers

